From Tapers to Tornados

I won’t delude myself into thinking that more than a handful of readers even noticed my two-week hiatus, but to those of you who inquired as to my absence–thanks, it’s nice to be missed!

The unread blogs on my Google Reader may be encroaching on a thousand in number, and the overtime on my paycheck may have had me doing a happy dance in my kitchen this evening, but I assure you–my time these past few weeks hasn’t been entirely spent away from running.  I’ve been keeping to my back-to-back marathon plan, running work-sponsored 5ks, and even setting new PRs.

The 5k was an annual run/walk put on by Tuerk House.  My company sponsors me in it every year, so long as I go and shake hands with the program director and tout our company for their upcoming projects.  Last year’s race took place right after a bit of a health scare that ended in surgery and I ended up having to walk the last part of the course.  My time this year not only took almost 10 full minutes of my previous course record, but an unexpected 27 seconds off my 5k PR!  The funny part is that I actually ran the course once before the race in an effort to stay warm (it was 42 degrees out that morning), even though I knew that by doing so I was essentially saying goodbye to a shot at a competitive time.  Apparently not, though — I didn’t wear my Garmin so you can imagine how shocked I was when I crossed the finish line and saw the clock read 26:03.  Crazy!  Maybe I should race all 5ks going forward after running a 3 mile warm up?

While I missed my last long run last weekend, I made it up with a 20 miler on the treadmill after work on Monday.  I didn’t get home until after 10pm, but it wasn’t nearly as awful as it sounds.  In fact, thanks to my new work phone I spent most of the 3.5+ hours killing time on Facebook. Posting status updates every few miles really helps pass the time, and the kudos in the comments were great motivators!  Not that I recommend epic long runs on treadmills, but I’ve determined that not only is it a decent alternative to the trail when daytime runs aren’t an option, but it’s perfectly doable.

This week begins my taper for the NCR Trail Marathon on the 27th.  I’m not sure how I feel about stuffing myself full of turkey and pecan pie on Thanksgiving and not being able to run it off for three days, but I’m sure I’ll survive.  I’m excited for the race, but I’m also excited for the race to be over. I’ve been actively training for the past 6 1/2 months and my body is tired.  My brain is tired, too, and both can really use the reprieve.  I plan to keep running through the winter, but intend to drop my weekly mileage from 35-40 to about 15-20.  And, if Wednesday’s tornado (that hit just blocks from my house!) is any indication that this winter’s weather systems will be on par with last year’s Snowmageddon, I’m sure it won’t be too hard!

10 Responses to From Tapers to Tornados

  1. Laura says:

    I noticed you were gone! Congrats on the PR! Somehow I end up running 10Ks at the same pace (or faster) than I do 5Ks. Maybe there’s something to be said about warming up?

  2. abbi says:

    Great job at the 5K! Impressed with the 20-miler on the treadmill!

  3. Holy 20 miler! Congrats on doing it on a treadmill. I think that would literally kill me. Also, I did notice your hiatus. It made me sad. But I’ve been traveling for the past week and have sort of neglected reading blogs too. And great job on your PR! That is the best feeling ever!

  4. OMG! 20 miles on a treadmill? Thats amazing, both because its 20 miles and because you did it on the treadmill!! Good for you. I am inspired!

  5. scarlett says:

    20 miles on a treadmill! That is dedication!

  6. Jess says:

    Ohh my goodness….20 miles on the treadmill….eeeppp!!!

  7. Tricia says:

    congrats on the pr!

  8. just wanted to say hello..I do PRd at the Tuerk House back in November…I was planning to do the Solstice 5 miler in two weekends but have canceled all of my runs for the rest of the year…I am looking to do my first 1/2 in May!!

  9. james says:

    Did you run the NCR Trail Marathon? You’ve been gone awhile. I hope all is ok.

Leave a Reply

