What’s Next?

While I’m running a race, my thoughts are usually on writing my upcoming race report.  I’m formulating the post in my head, desperately trying to contextualize all the crazy things I see and experience, because I simply cannot wait to share them with all of you and I don’t want to leave anything out.  But then I get home, exhausted and sore, and all I want to do is watch the weeks-worth of shows clogging up my DVR and eat oatmeal with bananas and peanut butter. 

My race report is coming, in fact it’s nearly there, but instead of prematurely hitting “Publish” on a rather uninspired recap, I’ll save you all the interminable boredom and wait for that stroke of genius that’s bound to show up sooner or later.  Because no one enjoys a dull-as-dirt play-by-play of 26 looong miles. 

I think I need a muse… think they sell those on Amazon?

In the meantime, let me introduce you to my next challenge.  Three days before I was set to run my first marathon, I did a crazy, impulsive thing.  I registered for my second.

 … and it’s in 6 weeks.

I know, I know… what would possess me to register for a second marathon before I even decided if I liked my first?  I asked this myself many times, and in the end, the answer was $10.  Yup, you see, the day of the Baltimore Marathon, registration for the NCRTM went up a whopping 10 bucks.  And to this girl, $10 is a lot.  For that matter, so was the $7 service charge Active.com tried to slap on my order, and so, I signed on the dotted line of a money order and mailed it off old school style.   Mock me if you want to, but I’ve got $17 in my pocket that some sad, undecisive runner that registered today, well, does’t.

The next question was, how on Earth do I train for this?  As in all times of confusion and general unrest, I turned to Google.  Trusty, Google, I love you.  Within an hour I had a plan inspired by Hal Higdon’s advice for running multiple marathons that will lead me through 2 weeks of recovery, 2 weeks of intense training, and another 2 week taper.   Side note: this isn’t a true trail race.  The NCR Trail is really an old rail line on packed gravel and it’s super flat–probably why it made the list as one of the top ten qualifying races for Boston.  

(Click to enlarge. This is also posted on my Training page)

So, it’s official,  I’ve been bit by the bug.  Again.  I’ve been scouring the  web and piecing together my race calendar for 2011.  There are so many options, and clearly I can’t do everything so I’m focusing on new races I haven’t done before.  And there are plenty.  I’m thinking of trying out a trail run, or maybe a sprint distance triathlon (you know, one that doesn’t require me to train in  a pool, or on a road bike because I have access to neither).

Tell me, what races are you running in the Baltimore/DC area in 2011?  If you haven’t thought that far ahead yet, which ones have your enjoyed that you would do again?

17 Responses to What’s Next?

  1. Jamie says:

    You’ve already done the Frederick, which is the only half I’ve done. In 2011, I’m doing the Shamrock Half-Marathon (and 8K) in Virginia Beach! It’s in March, duh… St. Patty’s day weekend.

    I’m looking forward to your recap! You’re an inspiration!

  2. That sounds really fun! And running on packed gravel will be SO much nicer on your body!!!

    As soon as my pesky foot quits hurting and I can start running again I’m sure I’ll be looking for races to do. Race season is starting to wrap up here though and my next one will likely be next spring.

  3. Erin says:

    I would totally do the Baltimore Half again.

    I really want to run the MCM though. One day.

    Have fun with the NCR Trail Marathon. Should be beautiful! Watch out for bikers though!

  4. Gina says:

    I was thinking about doing this marathon! I did all my long runs on this trail, it’s pretty flat and really beautiful during the fall! 🙂

  5. BostonRunner says:

    Congrats on signing up for marathon #2! Can’t wait to hear you recap of #1!

  6. James says:

    If they had a half marathon I’d be running it this year. The NCR Trail is an awesome place to run. Good luck with training!

  7. Aneta says:

    girl….ur crazy!!!!!

    this is insane but fantastic at the same time!!! good for u!!
    cant wait to read all about it!

  8. abbi says:

    I was wondering if you meant this year for the NCR Trail Marathon when you mentioned that the other week! I actually looked at that one way back at the beginning of the year when I was searching for marathons…I think you get good stuff at a reasonable price, plus the benefit of the nice, easy rail trail! If you want a really small town half in March, there’s the Chambersburg Half. It’s generally good timing for those doing spring full marathons!

  9. Katie A. says:

    LOVE you being smart about giving the shaft on the higher race fees! It totally adds up!
    And I also LOVE that you signed up before your first one – you had the bug and you ran with it! Nice work!

  10. Jaime Runs says:

    Oh I’m so excited for you. I can’t wait to hear your race report but I’m looking forward to hearing how your training goes for the next race. Good luck!

  11. The Linz says:

    Wow! I am so amazed that you signed up for your second before even finishing your first. It must have been a good luck tactic because your rocked your first! Enjoy your recovery weeks and good luck on the training. I am can’t wait to follow you on your next marathon journey! You inspire me Olivia! 🙂

  12. Jess says:

    2011 is still up in the air for me, I’m thinking about doing the Shamrock Half in Virginia Beach in March. Not exactly the DC-area, but I consider it close enough that I can drive and find a cheap hotel. Plus I’ve heard good things.

    Frederick was also a good race. I enjoyed it (except for the heat)

    The Annapolis 10 Mile and the Cherry Blossom 10 Mile are also winners.

  13. Kandi says:

    I ran the Parks Half Marathon in Montgomery county this year as my first half. It was a really pretty course and very organized.
    A favorite race of mine is the Great Allegany Run 15k race held in Cumberland every year. I wasn’t able to go this year, but it’s a downhill course in a very pretty part of MD.
    There is also a sprint Tri at Rocky Gap State Park in mid June that I’ve always wanted to do. It’s an open water swim in the lake.

Leave a Reply

