The Last Hurrah

This weekend was the final push before beginning my taper and I planned to make the most of it.  On Saturday I set out on my last long run — 12 miles. 

Actually, lets back up a moment, because the real challenge here wasn’t really the run, it was getting out the door.  In reality, I woke at 6 and ate a bowl of oats.  And then I went back to bed.  At 7:30 I got up again and checked the weather.  It was 50 degrees.  Not only did that incite me to don some cold weather running gear (pants and long sleeves), but it also meant that heat wasn’t going to be and issue and so … yup, you guess it, I went back to bed.  At 9:30 my husband started laying on the guilt trips and so I started making moves towards the front door.  Don’t think I wasn’t dragging my feet with procrastination though.  First I forgot my tunes, and then my sunscreen and when I finally made it outside it was hot!  Well, ok, not hot, but it wasn’t 50 degrees anymore either.  I went back inside and changed into shorts and a tank.   I was finally off and running around 9:45.   Geeze…

The run itself was amazing.  I will even go as far as to say it was my most successful training run yet.  My long runs have been slow all through my training — around a minute slower than my goal marathon pace which is 9:49 (though in all honesty, I think 10:15 is more realistic).  This scheduled run was no different and was written for 12 miles at 10:40.   My first mile was 10:19 and though I tried to slow it down my second was 10:12.  At that point I just figured what the hell, I was feeling good and I might as well take advantage of it.  It’s not like I could do any harm this late in the game.  And so that’s exactly what I did.  For the next ten miles, I dropped 10 seconds from each mile for perfect negative splits.  My route was really hilly too, but I think somehow that helped me.  I powered up the hills and relaxed a little on the decline and just focused on lengthening my stride.   My final mile was completed in 8:55 and it felt awesome.

I’m trying to mentally prepare for my taper, but my body isn’t cooperating.  The last 3 days my appetite has been out of control.  Yesterday I ate breakfast 3 times!! I’m hoping this relaxes considerably over the next two weeks because with my drop in my activity level, I could puff up like a blimp if I continue down this road.  Yikes!  Anyone else battling the munchies as they enter their taper?

6 Responses to The Last Hurrah

  1. abbi says:

    I was probably hungrier in those last 2 weeks than any of the earlier weeks. It made no sense. Enjoy your taper!

  2. Gina says:

    I didn’t get out to run until the same time you did! It was so nice to sleep in a little and not wake up at dawn to beat the heat. I think the fact that it was also gorgeous outside made it 10x better!

  3. The Linz says:

    Good job on the 12 miles and yes you are almost there! Woo hoo. Yes, I’ve been hungrier these past few days more than usual too. Our bodies know we need to carb it up before the big day! 🙂

  4. My hunger has calmed down a bit but the first week (after the 12 miler) I was STARVING!!!

    My 12-miler was probably my best training run yet as well! I ended up with a 9:58 pace and just felt amazing the entire time!

    You’re so close 😀

  5. BostonRunner says:

    haha I hate those mornings when I’m going back and forth to bed. I wish I would just stop torturing myself..
    Looks like the extra sleep is what you needed though! What a great way to wrap up your training with a nice confidence boost : )

Leave a Reply

