Lucky Week 13

With less than one month to go before the Baltimore Marathon, I realized this morning that today marks the beginning of week 13 of my training program – aka, Hell Week.  Coincidence?

Week 13
(click to enlarge)

No, your eyes are not deceiving you.   Tuesday does indeed call for mile repeats at an 8:35 pace.  I’ll remind you that my “happy pace” is probably closer to 11:00.  But, always up for a challenge I’m tacking this week with gusto and in fact, plan to bump Sunday’s long run up to 22 miles, for a grand total of 42 miles for the week.  My highest weekly mileage yet.

Part of the reason I’m so enthusiastic about Hell Week is because my motivation has been waning lately and I’ve made the conscious decision to flip the switch. Last week was punctuated by three all-you-can-eat buffet events and I took full advantage.  Today I had sap peas and yogurt for my afternoon snack.  Flip.  It’s been weeks since I’ve done my interval cross training workout, but today I hammered it out and added strength training and an ab work to boot.  Flip.

The other reason I’m cleaning up my act?  Let’s just say that yesterday’s adventures at a Chuck E. Cheese birthday party involved pizza and cupcakes and while my taste buds thought they had died and gone to heaven, my waistline sorely disagrees.  

As an aside, it was dark when I woke up this morning, and it was dark by the time I got home tonight… Well, hello Autumn. Fancy meeting you here.

12 Responses to Lucky Week 13

  1. This was my last week only I only did 18 on Sunday and cut my 8 down to 6 so only ended up with 36 miles for the week. Boo!

    Good luck with hell week, can’t wait to hear how doing 22 miles goes for you. I really wanted to fit in a 22-mile run this training cycle but it just wasn’t in the cards for me I guess!

  2. Laura says:

    I can’t tell you how wonderful it is to hear that I’m not the only one with a happy pace around 11:00.

  3. Jamie says:

    good luck with hell week! 4 x 1 mile repeats would have me in tears right now!

  4. The Linz says:

    Good luck on hell week! I love me a good challenge too. It sounds like you are going to rock it! 🙂

  5. abbi says:

    It seems many of us have had a few weeks where our dedication has waned a bit…just makes it feel so much better when you are fully committed…enjoy the week (hopefully!).

  6. Aneta says:

    looks like a very tough week. but hey, its only 1 week and once u get through it, it will be over and you will be 1 step closer to your marathon! good luck! looking forward to see how it goes!

  7. BostonRunner says:

    Good luck!! You’re going to rock this week! Stay positive and get lots of rest : )
    I’m missing the long summer days too…

  8. Jess says:

    I’m so looking forward to the race in Baltimore! I’m doing the half and just running it for fun, but man it sounds like you are ready to go with the full.

    Good luck with Hell Week!

  9. Katie A. says:

    Good luck with the crazy week! Run strong AND run strong!

  10. Molly says:

    Wishing you luck on your hard week, you can do it!

  11. sarah says:

    That is a pretty darn intense week. Tempo, mile repeats, AND a 20-miler? Good luck. I’m not sure how long Chuck E Cheese remorse can carry you, but, ya know, maybe through mile 16? And what were you celebrating at CEC anyway?

    • Our niece turned three! CEC would continue to be a far greater motivator if I hadn’t had lost all the bloat a mere two days into this week. I think if I were still fighting the scale it would be a slam dunk, now it’s sheer will. 😉

Leave a Reply

