Annapolis 10 Miler Photos

Pictures were posted this weekend from the Annapolis 10 Miler and I couldn’t be more thrilled with their portrayal of my race.  After the B10, I complained that my photos were too pretty. I was disappointed in myself for not giving it my all in the last couple of miles and my offical race photos, which showed me all but prancing across the finish line, were only proof that I half-assed it. 

This time around, I gave the race everything I had in me (quite literally, as I was out with a nasty cold in the days following) and these pictures can attest.

I can’t be too sure where these were taken,
but it was clearly early on…


Looks like I’m staring to feel the strain!


Finish line corral — eyes on the prize.


So relieved to be done!
(That’s the gun time in the background.  I finished in 1:34:22)
 

While it’s nice to have frame-worthy pictures from a race, I don’t put myself through this beastly training simply to look good in spandex.  These last couple pictures aren’t horrible by any means, but I do think that they show me as focused and really pushing to achieve my goal.  I want race photos to show not only my thrill and my pride, but my sweat and my pain.  Running isn’t easy and I shouldn’t ever make it look as though it is — especially during a race!    

11 Responses to Annapolis 10 Miler Photos

  1. Jess says:

    I think your pictures came out pretty good! They didn’t get very many of me. I think only like two! Way to find the photogs!

  2. The Linz says:

    Love the pix and the fact you are smiling in them too! Great job!!

  3. BostonRunner says:

    Love the pictures! Glad you gave it your all this time and it showed : )

  4. Deanna says:

    Loved the photos! Candid race photos tell it all, don’t they? I can totally see the determination, focus and hard work in those photos. Great job!

  5. I LOVE those last couple of photos! They totally show you as a hard worker who is pushing through!!!!

  6. Laura says:

    Your blog is always a riot! I love the second to last pic! I guess I’m giving my all…I’m always a mess in my race photos.

  7. jen says:

    GREAT pics! congrats!

  8. Lindsay says:

    Yea I rarely ever look “good” in my race pics, but I also don’t look “trying-hard” for a frame! I usually look all kinds of rough 🙂 great photos! Hope you splurge for one.

  9. sarah says:

    These are great pictures! You look pretty, which is amazing for race shots. And I’m amazed that your hair stayed so neat in the ponytail. Is there a secret?

Leave a Reply

