Tits and Ass

Three years ago I was accustomed to getting the evil eye from the sales girl on my biannual trip to Victoria Secret.    If they had simply put the DDs up on the wall with all the cute  itty bitty sizes it would have saved me the embarrassment and them the irritation, but as it stood, I was regularly caught pawing through the drawers for my size without first *gasp!* asking for assistance.  Sorry, but I’m a big girl.  I can find a bra on my own — even if you hide them, thanks.  

So you can imagine my glee when I purchased my very own B-cup this week.  Found right there on the wall between the Very Sexy plunge and the Miraculous Multi-way.  Granted, my husband isn’t as thrilled in the decrease in my bust size as I am, but I’m sure any readers out there who went directly from a training bra to a C-cup the summer before 7th grade can relate.  And really, you try running around with DDs strapped to your chest and see how well you do.  Go ahead, I’ll wait here and mock the honks and cat calls, and the difficulties of breathing from the confines of two sports bras.

Ok, enough about boobs.  How about we talk about my ass, because that really HURTS.  First, a  little back story…

My training has been off this week because I’ve got the Annapolis 10 Miler on Sunday and I’ve been at a bit of a loss as to how to prepare for it.  Obviously, I wanted to make sure I was rested for the race, but at the same time, I didn’t want to hinder my marathon training.  What I decided to do was to make my cross-training days rest days, so that I could keep my mileage base up, but still keep up some energy reserves for the race.  

That didn’t go so well.  After 6 days away from the gym, I could see the muscle loss and I missed my core training (and, I wont lie, my wannabe abs).  So when I got off work early yesterday (the presentation went swimmingly and I had accumulated almost 4 hours of overtime when all was said and done), I headed to the gym.  I started with crunches and planks, then did a circuit of weight training and finished with six slow miles on the treadmill.  I think I would have been ok with all of that if I hadn’t had added lunges to the mix.  Becuase today?  It hurts to sit.  I’m dissapointed in myself because I know better than to do lunges two days before a race if I haven’t been doing them regularly.  I should have just done one day of strength training in the middle of the week rather than attempt to skip it all together.  Ultimate taper FAIL. 

Well, at least a lesson was learned and hopefully a day of rest will do me good.  Kirk and I are heading down to Annapolis to pick up my race packet and to drive the course.  We’re planning to get lunch on the water and he’s promised we can score some frozen yogurt while were there.  Tonight will be low key too — probably a movie.

Tomorrow morning I will be up around 5am to beat the traffic and meet up with Uncle Paul who is running the course too.  After the race I will be meeting my mom and her two sisters for brunch.  Pancakes anyone?

19 Responses to Tits and Ass

  1. Laura says:

    Hello, new reader here! I LOVE this post (especially the title)! I have what is known as a “pear” shaped figure, which means I have the opposite problem as you do up top. I recently got back into running and have shrunk a bit. This meant that I had a similar (sports) bra shopping experience…except for I started out at an XS. I thought to myself, “Maybe I could find a sports bra in the girls section. That would be cheaper anyway…” I didn’t expect to purchase a GIRLS size small! Good luck on the 10 miler!

  2. The Linz says:

    Good luck on your 10 miler tomorrow!! I know I always freak myself out before a race too. Should I rest, should I cross train, can I drink one glass of wine, should I rest two days before…etc.. Hopefully the lunges won’t hinder you tomorrow, but make you stronger on your run! 🙂

  3. Kelly Lanley says:

    Have a great run! I’ve been reading your blog for the last few weeks and have really enjoyed it – thank you!

  4. Haha. Catching title. I hate hate hate bra shopping. Being a 32A is the pits, so I order online, since the stores don’t normally carry my size. And I don’t have to answer with “I need the smallest size you have”. All said and done, I LOVE my small breasts. I can wear low cut shirts without feeling like I’m being inappropriate and no bouncing when I run.

  5. Bert says:

    Had to look at this one due to the title! Lunges get me every time too! Good luck with the race.

  6. BostonRunner says:

    I hear you with the double sports bras. It sucks. How did you get out of it?

  7. abbi says:

    Oh my…relate 100% to your boobs story! The misery of bra shopping actually started my weight loss adventure. 50 pounds later and so much happier and love that I don’t have to get those lovely 4 snap numbers anymore. I still double up on sports bras but at least they aren’t speciality ones anymore.

    Have an awesome race tomorrow! Hopefully you won’t be too sore.

  8. LOL that’s hilarious. I’ve always had small boobs and I LOVE IT especially when it comes to running.

    I made the lunges mistake a few weeks ago – something about lunges just KILL the butt!

  9. Good luck with you race!

    I can relate to how much bettter it is to shop with a smaller cup size. I was an E cup 2 years ago and it was nearly impossible to find a bra with or without the saleperson’s help. Now that I have gone down a few sizes I am having much more luck which is great!!

  10. sarah says:

    This was amazing. Because about 10 percent of my daily thoughts are devoted to my boobs and butt. Hm? Lunges absolutely do me in every time, so I know exactly how you feel. I am always like, ooh, I’m in great shape! I’ll do 30 lunges! And then next day, I’m like, “Mama…”

    Welcome to the B club. We are very diverse; you’ll be in good company.

  11. Pam says:

    You had me with the title of this post. LOL

    I used to be a pretty hefty gal. When I was at my biggest, I was in a C cup (but truth be told, if I’d had a proper fitting done, it probably should have been a D). Then I lost a lot of weight during high school and my boobs are left to tell the tale. Yes, they’re smaller, but when the weight went, so did any perkiness they might have had. I’ve thought about getting a boob job to put a little life back in the girls, but then I just think about trying to run with a couple of water balloons in my bra…

    I think I’ll keep my saggy tits.

  12. jamie says:

    i hope you were all healed and had an awesome race!

    congrats on the boob loss 🙂

  13. Jess says:

    It was so fun seeing you on the out and back! I’m really glad you yelled my name because I was sooo not paying attention to anything at the point! Hope the rest of your race went well!

  14. Allisun says:

    Haha! Love it…gives me a bit of hope. Although so far it is just the face, waist and legs. One day the boobs will follow suit and if not there is always the knife!!!

Leave a Reply

