iSweat

Apparently sweat and iPods don’t play well together.  Or maybe it’s just that I shouldn’t have shoved my iPod down my sports bra mid-way through the Baltimore 10 Miler back in June.  Admittedly, that probably wasn’t the best idea I’ve ever had.  Regardless, my iPod now refuses to scroll through the menu options and while it will play tunes, I can’t access my playlists.  On yesterday’s run I was entertained by Beyoncé, ABBA, Garth Brooks, and the Original Broadway Cast of Avenue Q … in that order. 

  I may need to order on of these babies.

My mental state is just as discombobulated these days.  This will probably be glaringly obvious by the end of this post. 

Work is stressing me out.  Usually I can blow off some steam with a good workout, but today I opted for shopping as I desperately need a new suit for a presentation I have  to give on Thursday.   Wanna know the only thing better than retail therapy?  Finding a $200 suit on sale for $25.  I heart Marshall’s. 🙂

Oh, and a burger and fries from Five Guys.  After today, I totally deserved it.  Just like I deserve to sit here and do absolutely nothing other than browse homes I can’t afford on Long and Foster’s website for the rest of the night. 

…so pretty… 

Interesting fact:  Last week I was diagnosed with a B12 deficiency.  B12 is a vitamin found in animal products that is required for proper neurological function and red blood cell formation.  The primary indicators of a deficiency are fatigue, poor memory, anemia and enlarged red blood cells.  Nope, nothing on attention disorders.  Damn.

Another interesting fact I found on the Office Of Dietary Supplements website pertains to B12 and endurance sports: 

Due to its role in energy metabolism, vitamin B12 is frequently promoted as an energy enhancer and an athletic performance and endurance booster. These claims are based on the fact that correcting the megaloblastic anemia caused by vitamin B12 deficiency should improve the associated symptoms of fatigue and weakness. However, vitamin B12 supplementation appears to have no beneficial effect on performance in the absence of a nutritional deficit.

Maybe my new vitamin will turn me into the next Kara Goucher?   I’ll keep you posted.  My next speed workout is tomorrow! 😉

While I have been cutting down on my meat intake these last couple months, the diagnosis came from a blood test that was done last November – well before I made any changes to my diet (speaking of which, can anyone recommend a doctor in the Baltimore area who doesn’t take 9 months to call you with abnormal test results?  Thanks).  In fact, my employer gave me an entire ham for the holidays so I’m pretty sure I was getting B12 in heart-stopping doses.  I’m now taking a vitamin supplement that is 16,667% of the Daily Recommended Value!  Apparently, when I’m retested they’ll be able to determine if the supplement resolved the issue or if I have an absorption problem.  If it’s the latter than I’ll have to get B12 injections. 

Anyone ever been B12 deficient? 

18 Responses to iSweat

  1. Jaime says:

    I browse houses I can’t afford too!

  2. Allie says:

    Mmm… Five Guys always looks so tempting! I haven’t had it before. Maybe after my first 16 miler. 😉

  3. Pam says:

    I heart Marshall’s too. 🙂 And Ross and TJMaxx…

    Hope you’re able to get your B12 under control without injections. 😦

  4. lindsay says:

    yikes, 9 months to get blood work back? are they sure it was even yours at that point? sheesh. ohh that US health care…

    i am always looking at houses for sale at work. sometimes i look for fixer-uppers and sometimes i look for “estates” lol. like i can really afford either of those!

  5. Get an iPod shuffle! They are perfect for running!

  6. Deanna says:

    I take a B complex vitamin. I’ve been taking it daily for a while and honestly don’t notice a difference…in anything. But, I have read that B vitamins are used in so many different functions in our body that the affects may not be so blatant.

  7. Abby says:

    Looking at houses I can’t afford is one of my favorite hobbies as well. I think it is even more depressing now that I own a house, but not “the” house.

    They opened a Five Guys here in Natomas – YUM! Great choice for a calorie splurge.

  8. jen says:

    i take B12 dots under my tongue on days i run. i wouldnt say i see a difference but i would say i feel healthy since i’ve started taking them i do have more energy. i am iron deficient and i think the b helps somehow? i dont know but my floradix (which has b, b6 and b12 and iron) helps wonders!!

  9. BostonRunner says:

    I’m B12 deficient too! I’ve been taking supplements daily for about two years now after I was diagnosed with Anemia. They really helped me, but I’m no Kara Goucher : )

  10. The Linz says:

    Good luck on your presentation on Thursday. You are going to rock it and look awesome in your sweet deal suit! I need to check out marshalls! 🙂 And so sad about your iPod. I washed mine (2 weeks old) in the washing machine and yeah it didn’t hold too well after that. I feel your pain!

  11. I have never been diagnosed with a deficiency but I worred about it a lot when I was a vegetarian. I hope that they are able to diagnose the real issue and fix this for you.

  12. katiedin says:

    Just started reading your blog! I moved to Baltimore about two weeks ago and I’m still trying to navigate the city (and figure out where I should run!) Definitely want to get some pointers from you. Also, I’m running the MCM 10k, too. Very much looking forward to it.

  13. sarah says:

    I am a vegetarian and take a B-complex vitamin. Who knows if it does any good, but it makes me feel virtuous.

    I may have also killed my iPod with sweat, but I called Apple and swore it was just a battery problem. They replaced it for free.

  14. Jamie says:

    I’ve killed many an ipod between sweat and getting stuck in a downpour. How crazy it took 9 months to get your abnormal test results! So wrong! Hopefully the vitamin supplement helps and it’s nothing worse.

  15. […] most exciting of all, I finally dragged my butt to the Apple store today.  You may remember I ruined my Nano with my less-than-sexy and profuse sweat.  Unfortunately, the tech team couldn’t revive […]

  16. […] Also, I got a lot of questions this weekend about the iPod Nano Multi-Touch I purchased on Friday.  I took it out for its virgin run on the 22 miler and met with success.  The clip worked great and didn’t budge the entire time, the touch screen was easy to use while running and I really have no complaints.  When I first clipped it to my fuel belt I was a little discouraged as the screen was upside-down, but I soon figured out that I could rotate it in any direction – awesome!  I’m thrilled to finally have an mp3 player that I can clip on while I run and not have to worry about carrying it, wearing an arm band or accidentally sweating on it and causing a premature death. […]

Leave a Reply

