Tri-Tip Flavored GU

Well, my 20 miles on Sunday were hard (that may be the greatest understatement I’ll ever make), but thankfully proved to be no comparison for the disastrous, painful long run the week before.  Looking back, I think my fueling, or rather, my lack of fueling was to blame. 

Last week before my 18 miler I had yogurt and fruit for breakfast,  huevos rancheros for lunch, and a salad with the teeniest slice of pizza ever for dinner.  This past Saturday in preparation for my long run I had oats for breakfast, pasta and veggies for lunch and a cheesesteak sandwich and fro-yo for dinner and dessert.   A striking difference that proved to be much in my favor.

Cheesesteaks may not be the first thing that comes to mind when thinking of proper pre-run nutrition, but it is the first thing you think of after watching the standoff between Gino’s and Pat’s on Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives on the Food Network.  And after all, we’re only an hour and a half from Philly…

So yes, Kirk and I drove to Philadelphia for dinner.  As a co-worker noted this morning, “Oh that’s right. You don’t have kids yet.”  True that!

The verdict?  Did we opt for Gino’s or for Pat’s?  Well, while Pat’s was deemed to have better bread, they also had super water-saturated peppers and onions (think sitting in a bucket of water for days kind of saturated).  Ew.  Gino’s steak was a teeny bit more flavorful, but ultimately, neither were all that impressive.  We were less than enthused. :/

But, as I said, that cheesesteak did me well the next morning.  The run was wildly uneventful, so I won’t bore you with the (lack of) details.  I started before the sun came up at 5:51am and ended 4 Gus and 3 hours, 33 minutes and 31 seconds later.  I was exhausted, but it good spirits. 

Speaking of steak – does anyone else get tired of the sugary-sweet GU flavors?  I realize it sounds gross now, but trust me, two hours into my run on Sunday I would have killed for a tri-tip flavored GU. 

I had an ice bath and a coffee (simultaneously), followed by a viewing of The Last Airbender accompanied by my husband and my faithful icepack.  I can’t say much for the movie, but the icing helped tremendously.  My knees were really achy later in the day, but were much improved by Monday morning and I’m ready to tackle my 7 miles today.   

In other news:  My husband and I have decided to start cooking in the evenings together.  This is going to be a challenge, I think, as the kitchen has become my territory to improvize and concoct things as I please, but I also think it will be good for us.  Mainly, because it will give us something to do together.  My husband and I are total opposites.  We are hard-pressed to find anything (aside from movies and food) that we both enjoy.  As a result, we are perfectly content to do our own thing most of the time, even if that means being away from each other.  The down side of this is the obvious: we spend most of our time away from each other!  We do love one  another’s company, so hopefully working on creating masterful dishes in the kitchen as a team will bring us a little more together time. 

Let’s just cross our fingers we don’t kill each other in the process.  Let’s face it, we bicker like nobody’s business and there are plenty of sharp weapons within arms reach in the kitchen!  Just kidding…

13 Responses to Tri-Tip Flavored GU

  1. BostonRunner says:

    I feel like movie and food tastes in common are one of the most important! haha
    My boyfriend and I have wanted to start cooking more food together instead of eating out. We’re starting small, aiming for once a week at first. So far it’s been fun and we’re saving a lot of money and calories : ) I’d love to see some of the things you cook together!

    Great job on the run, an uneventful run is a good run. I think it’s so interesting experimenting with different pre-run foods and seeing the effects it has on your run/recovery!

  2. Pam says:

    Did you ever watch Will & Grace? Every time I come to your blog, I think about that show! The episode that had Cher in it and Jack kept saying, “Follow your bliss…”

    EVERY TIME!

    Glad to hear your 20 went better than your 18!

    And isn’t it fun to just pick up and do WHATEVER WHENEVER. I LOVE not having kids! ha! Although we do have two housedogs that have to be tended to, so that can hinder us at times.

  3. Food always play a huge part in my runs or workouts! Whenever I go overboard on the eating, my runs are pure misery.

    I think its hilarious though that you both up and drove 1.5 hours for cheesesteak – too bad it didn’t seem worth it, but now you know right?

  4. Haha that reminds me so much of me and Eric. Food and movies? Check. Anything else? Not so much. Our idea of “spending time together” usually involves us sitting on the same couch – him playing his xbox and me on my laptop. Haha

    I LOVE strawberry-banana GU’s! I don’t think I’ll ever get sick of them. 🙂

  5. jamie says:

    Glad the 20 went better than 18! Fueling makes a world of difference. Good luck with the combined cooking!

  6. abbi says:

    Great job on the 20 miles…Kevin and I are pretty much opposites too…we often joke about how we have virtually nothing in commong, but it works! I’m not sure how cooking together would go though, he kind of drives me nuts in the kitchen. You’ll have to report on how the adventures go!

  7. Aneta says:

    good job on the 20 miles.
    fueling is part of training. as we learn to run, we learn to fuel! so, its all practice!

    love ur blog!

  8. sarah says:

    Ohhh…good luck on cooking together. I like dudes in the kitchen as much as anybody, but I’m a firm believer in the “too many chefs spoil the soup” philosophy. Let us know how it works out!

    As for Gu – I try not to take it very often. It’s super sweet, yeah, but usually I’m not sucking them down for flavor.

  9. The Linz says:

    I had to laugh about the TRI-tip flavored gu. Isn’t it funny when you have that long to think about any and everything these crazy thoughts come into play. But I hear ya on the gu flavors, I love them, but sometimes the sweet is not what I am craving. Good job on your 20 you practically ran a marathon girl!! 🙂

  10. Deanna says:

    Great job on your 20 miles! I love reading your recaps. Good luck on cooking together. I hope you blog about your experiences sharing the kitchen. What is your next long run?

    • Thanks Deanna! This is a down week so it’s only 6 miles this weekend. I do have two other 20 milers planned, though I’ve heard I should try to bump one of them up to 22. Apparently it’s a whole different ball game! We’ll see… 🙂

Leave a Reply

