Running in Wine Country

The two thoughts that struck me as I set out on my 7 mile run yesterday were:

  • Damn, it’s cold!
  • And wow, incredibly flat!

Odd, as flat and cold are not the two descriptions that come to mind when looking at this landscape.

However, on the valley floor the roads are as flat as a pancake and the thick fog that rolls in over the hills blocks the sun.  It burns off around noon and the temperatures soar into the 80’s, but when I left the house I was in my stepmom’s borrowed long sleeve shirt and wishing I’d brough my running capris.

The food here has been more than I could ask for.  My father and stepmom buy only the freshest and healthiest ingredients and for this I’ve teased them my entire life.  Now that I’ve made these changes in my own kitchen, the trip represents the first time I’ve actually appreciated the spread they place in front of me.  Organic yogurt, melon, berries, nuts, sprouted grains, coffees and teas.  Yesterday the coffee did me in though, and on my run I had to stop at St. Joseph’s Lutheran Church and beg to use the facilities!  Today, I’m sticking to nettle Tea. 🙂 

My father took the photograph above on one of his projects.  He’s a landscape architect, and I must say, Napa is the place to get those creative juices flowing.  The arid landscape lends itself fully to beautification.  In fact, it almost requires it.  If a space isn’t masterfully designed and impeccably landscaped it’s just desert.

Today we’re going to the Marin Headlands for a hike, but first I have a run to get in.  Cross your fingers I don’t freeze!   

10 Responses to Running in Wine Country

  1. abbi says:

    Have fun on your runs! Don’t worry, the heat and humidity is still here waiting for you when you get back.

  2. BostonRunner says:

    Wow it looks beautiful there! I would LOVE to run in a long sleeve t right now! Sounds like perfect running conditions (I love flat too haha)

  3. Monique says:

    Fingers crossed! Have fun! And the pic is very pretty.

  4. Jamie says:

    Looks beautiful! Sounds like despite the coolness in the morning a good start to your trip!

  5. Cathy says:

    Napa is really beautiful! Don’t forget to taste some wine while you’re there!

  6. The Linz says:

    Omigawsh- you are in paradise! Have such a great run girly and enjoy your time down in Cali. I know my family always served really fresh and organic food and it took a long time for me to come to appreciate it. Now I know whenever I go home I will eat good, good as in healthy! 🙂 That is soo cooL!

  7. Wow! What a beautiful place to run..I am very envious!!

  8. Oh, flatness and coolness! Where are you in my life?!? Enjoy the wine country running! It looks gorgeous!

  9. That view is to die for. Omg. I would love to run there!

    Hope you’re having fun!

  10. Kate says:

    Wow! So gorgeous. I love wine country, but have yet to run there!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

