Friends In Low Places

By low, of course, I mean The Valley because that’s where I’m headed tomorrow. 

No not that kind of valley!  Now this, this is what I’m talking about:

 

The Sacramento Valley! 

Well, actually, this time of year it will probably look more like this:

 

But still gorgeous, yes?

This Saturday is my 10 year high school reunion and I’m flying out for a full 7 days of family and friends, reminiscing and… running.  I plan to log a full 32 miles while I’m out there – including an 18 miler, my longest distance to date.  

Planning this long run gave me a good bit of anxiety before I realized I had great resources to pull from.  I didn’t start running until after I moved from California to Maryland so I know nothing about the safe pedestrian routes they have, and I’ve been gone for 5 years  so my memory of the shadier areas to avoid is iffy at best.  Lucky for me, while I know next to no runners in Baltimore, I have four friends back in my hometown who routinely run marathons!  Yes, those friends in low places came in quite handy as I prepared for this weekend’s long run in a strange once familiar city.  With their help and suggestions I have mapped out a great route for this weekend (along with several shorter distances for the rest of the week) and I dare say I’m down right excited for this 18 miler! 

A lot has changed since I moved to Maryland, and even more has changed since graduating high school.  The most obvious is that I’m 30 lbs lighter and I finally discovered the wonder that is the flat iron.  Needless to say, I’m rather looking forward to this reunion!  

Things I’m not looking forward to (in no particular order*): 

  • No gym for strength training
  • What? No oatmeal?! How will I survive??
  • I wont have the Husband with me.    

Kirk is taking a Stay-cation this week as cross country airfare is expensive. It will be the first time we’ve spent more than two nights apart since we met!  Still, it will be nice to see my dad and stepmom, and all my best girl friends.  Hopefully my training wont sacrifice too much.    

Tonight’s Run:
4 miles/34:43
Mile 1: 8:48
Mile 2: 8:45
Mile 3: 8:32
Mile 4: 8:37

Can I just take a moment to say that those last four seconds of Mile 4 are the biggest buzz kill ever?!  I was really shooting for negative splits.  That said, I am beyond stoked that I carried a sub-9 minute pace for the whole run.  I’ve never even come close to that before.  So awesome! 

* I kid, I kid!

16 Responses to Friends In Low Places

  1. badgergirl says:

    Nice job on maintaining the sub-9 minute miles during your 4-miler! Enjoy the trip back to California and good luck with that 18-miler!

  2. BostonRunner says:

    The trip sounds like it’s going to be lots of fun! That’s great that you were about to connect with some running friends to help you out with your route. It will definitely keep you entertained to be in a new place running your 18 miler
    Great job on the run today!

  3. abbi says:

    Have an excellent trip! I agree, the 18 miler actually sounds fun since it’ll be different terrain. Great job on your speedy 4-miler too!!

  4. Jaime says:

    Enjoy your high school reunion.

    Strength training = push ups, lunges with water bottles, and planks.

    Can you bring packets of instant oats?

    Good luck on doing 18! Looks like a beautiful place to do them! 🙂

  5. The Linz says:

    You are going to rock California girl! I am super excited for you to meet up with your peeps and get some good running in. 18 miles are going to be amazing. Have a blasty at the reunion! 🙂

  6. Aneta says:

    hello! just stopping by for the first time. found ur blog thru Higher Miles and the Distance Dreamers club!
    love ur blog! 🙂

  7. Jamie says:

    Have a fun trip back home! The long run will be fun in a different place. Change of running venue is nearly always a good thing 🙂

  8. Monique says:

    Good luck today! Have fun!

  9. Katie A. says:

    Good old Sac. I used to live in Elk Grove, but I know Sac well. Just be careful, as pretty as Sacramento and the area around it, you’re right, it can get sketch! Good luck and have fun!

  10. aron says:

    ohhh have fun!! you won’t be too far from me 🙂 i have my 10 year reunion this year too but wont be going 😦

  11. Have a great trip! You will totally rock those 18 miles.

  12. Bert says:

    Have a great time in California and at the reunion!

  13. sarah says:

    Have fun! Maybe the change in scenery will propel you through the long run. Ah. California. What I would do for a jaunt out here.

  14. Lindsay says:

    Have fun!! Hope your runs go well and are safe. I think I’d be more likely to go to my reunion if I lost some weight and learned how to beautify myself, lol. So glad you discovered the straightener… I was one poofy, frizzy girl myself!

  15. Cathy says:

    Good luck on your 18 miler! I’m so impressed about your sub-9 mile run! I just ran my first mile under 10 – I was pretty excited about it!

  16. Wow great time on your run. I would love to log sub 9:00 miles for a 4 miler. You rock!! Enjoy your vacation 🙂

Leave a Reply

