Only Human

After all my calculating and photo snapping on Monday I have two things to say to all my readers. 

1)  Thank you for all your feedback and general encouragement!  I’m so appreciative of your thoughtful responses and for all of you that offered up your own tips and hangups.   

It’s nerve-wracking to post one’s daily eats for the masses.  I don’t know about you, but I don’t typically advertise the foods I eat.   In most other matters of life, we are surrounded by people we can model our behaviors by, yet it’s next to impossible to know every little thing that our family, friends or neighbors eat.   Beginning in adolescence, fitting in becomes paramount – we have to have the trendiest jeans and wear our hair in the latest styles.   All it takes is  a glance at the coolest girl in school to replicate her style, but her food habits?  That’s  a different story.  I think because of this grey area and the general inability to compare our habits to our peers,  our diets become very personal as we advance into adulthood.  

This is not to say that I believe we should be comparing our diets to anyone else’s (or their designer shoes for that matter!).  Everyone’s body is different and there is beauty in that.  And what works for one person, may very well be detrimental for another.  I’m simply saying that there is a reason teenage girls are so influenced by the models in magazines and the stars on TV – they desperately want to fit in.   One would think that with a minor in Human Behavior I would be above all the insecurities, but alas, I’m only human.

2)  Major kudos to all you food bloggers out there!  I don’t know how you do it!  Somehow, while perched on the kitchen counter attempting to get the perfect shot of a bowl of mixed berries, I slipped and landed in the sink.  Yes, IN the sink.  I now have a welt the size of a quarter on my spine.  I guess I get  a free pass on crunches this week!

That is all!  Happy Hump Day!

6 Responses to Only Human

  1. totally love the guts it took to put your food out there for the day 🙂 i haven’t done that yet and don’t know if i’m going to (even thought I’ve thought about it for the same reason why you did – enough calories for marathon training). I’m always worried that I’m not getting enough calories in my system.

  2. I tried sharing all my eats for awhile and it was exhausting. I have been getting questions, so I think I will post it once in awhile.

    Really I wish I didn’t count calories, somedays I think it makes me eat more than I should…but it was how I lost weight and makes me feel comfortable that I won’t regain it.

  3. BostonRunner says:

    I totally agree. People would criticize my eating so much if I ever posted it on my blog. You leave yourself so vulnerable! That being said, I’m really glad you did it : )

  4. Jaime Runs says:

    What a great post.

    What I eat isn’t all that photogenic and I’m not much of a foodie, but I sure do respect the food bloggers of the world! I am embarrassed taking photos in public!

  5. sophia says:

    I used to post all my eats, but it got too…stressful. And annoying. I don’t know how some food bloggers can continue to do it religiously, esp without it getting too obsessive!

Leave a Reply

