Woe Is Monday

It always unnerves me when the week gets off to a rough start – as though the universe is going to have to work double-time to redeem itself.  Such is the case today.  Actually, the trend truly began on Saturday, so perhaps this stretch of bad luck is nearing its end?  I’m trying to look on the bright side of things, but it’s been a challenge.

Kirk and I attended a wedding in Delaware this weekend.  The fam booked rooms at the Hilton so we were all excited to sit in the lap of luxury.  However, our day dreams failed to include the fantastically over-chlorinated pool, the out of service elevator, or the broken AC.  Yeah, 2am doesn’t yield much sleep for those trapped in a 12×12 room without air conditioning when it’s 95 degrees out.  (Pro side: the AC was working in the gym where I punched out 6 miles on their state-of-the-art treadmill while being fully entertained by the antics of the Real World New Orleans’ cast.)

We returned home excited to relax with a few DVDs and our window unit on full blast.  We ripped into our Blockbuster mailers with zeal, but were disappointed to find they were Season 1 discs of Glee.  Don’t get me wrong, Glee is great, but we’re on Season 2.   (Pro side: we have the no-longer-offered All Access membership that grants unlimited in-store exchanges) We high-tailed it to Blockbuster and rented A Perfect Getaway and Green Zone (4 stars to the first, I slept through the second – that’s no reflection on the movie itself though, just an unavoidable consequence of running 6 miles on little to no sleep).

This morning I walked into a dark and a suffocatingly dank office.  The storm that passed through yesterday afternoon apparently knocked out the power.  We had a small bid that was due at noon, which had people in a frenzy.  Even though we’d likely be up and running before then, I had to be prepared for the chance that our computers might still be down and so I wrote up the entire proposal by hand.  I don’t think I’ve handwritten that much text since my college years and I do belive  I actually got a blister for my efforts.  Worse yet, I was forced to do this without caffeine as no power = no Mr. Coffee machine.  (Pro: Someone finally made a Dunkin’ Donuts run for brew and the power is back up and running) but, of course, the AC failed to fire up with everything else and it’s still steamy as all get out in here.

Last night Kirk and I did something extraordinary however.  We cooked. Together.  And get this: we didn’t fight once.  If you know anything of my relationship with my husband you know what a feat this is because we bicker like nobody’s business.  Hey, conflict is what keeps life interesting right?  I’m sure my mother is beaming with pride as she reads this (and perhaps exhaling a sigh of relief?).  Oh, and the stuffed peppers were excellent too!  See Bobbi’s recipe for Red Quinoa Salad in this post that we used for the filling.  Mmmmm…. I LOVE cilantro!!

Hitch was on TV last night – I love that movie!  Only Hitch and The Hangover can make me laugh so hard that I should probably avoid watching them in public. I thought this quote summed my outlook on life pretty accurately:

Max: Spoken like a true cynic.
Sara: I’m not a cynic, I’m a realist!
Max: Or a realist masquerading as a cynic who is secretly an optimist.

Are you a glass half full or half empty type?  I’m defintely the later – prepared for the worst, but secretly hoping for the best. 

 

11 Responses to Woe Is Monday

  1. sarah says:

    Ha. That last quote just sums me up. I used to think I was all cynical, mistrusting authority and the like, until I realized that I just want everyone to be happy with Lisa Frank pictures and rainbows. It was a bit of a letdown to know I wasn’t as dark as I had hoped, but also kind of nice.

    I can’t cook collaboratively, so good for you for taking it on. Too many cooks ends up with sulky cooks, in my experience.

  2. James says:

    Sounds like an interesting weekend. I hope the wedding itself went ok. I’m sort of a mix. In some regards I am a cynic, but others I’m an optimist. No clear division between the two. Oh, and I agree with you about bickering keeping life interesting. My wife and I do it all the time!

  3. jamie says:

    What a weekend and way to start your Monday! Hope at least the wedding was fun!

    I’m definitely a mix and it depends on my mood and the situation.

  4. abbi says:

    Sounds like an interesting weekend! I used to be a glass half empty type of person but think I’m slowly changing to the other.

  5. BostonRunner says:

    I can’t decide which I am. That probably means I’m a half empty person but just denying it.. I’d like to think I’m a half full person though..

  6. The Linz says:

    Wow, what a weekend! I can relate on the whole power outage thing, my work has had the internet down since last week and it makes it really hard to do much. But sounds like things are perking up for u. That means the rest of your week is going RRRRRRROCk! Yeah!

    I would have to say I’m a super half-full. Always thinking optimistically. 🙂

  7. Hahaha – me and Eric are bicker-ers too! Love it!

    I try to be a glass half-full type of gal, but lately I’ve been burnt out, tired and seeing things in a more glass half-empty kind of way 😦 Haha

  8. I am glass half empty for the most part but I am tryig to work on that a little. I think it would be refreshing for me to look at the world through a pair of rose coloured glasses sometimes!

  9. I think I’m a glass is half-full kind of girl, but I’m definitely a worrier!

    Thank goodness for the DD coffee run by your co-worker. I couldn’t function without my morning cup of coffee!

  10. sounds like quite the weekend. i love with my hubby and i cook together but it doesn’t happen often enough 🙂

Leave a Reply

