Why Go At All?

‎”If you aren’t going all the way, why go at all?” -Joe Namath

This was the Facebook status a friend posted after I declared that I didn’t feel up to a 12 mile run yesterday and had resolved to do 5 instead.  I belive my exact words were, “You can do anything for 5 miles, right?”

Well, if there’s anything that I’ve learned about running it’s that if you’re capable of running 5, you’re capable of running 12.   So I did.  And it wasn’t so terrible.  And I’m happy that I was able to make a choice yesterday that alleviated me being forced to do it today.  Rather than spending the day disappointed in myself and dreading the long run in the morning, I got to relish in the fact that it was already done.  A fabulous decision because I really don’t feel like running 12 miles today either.  Go figure.

Oooh!  And did I tell you all about the healthy bbq I planned yesterday?  I left the husband at home while I went to BJs Wholesale for ingredients – this is key in keeping the Doritos and whatnot out of the cart!  In their stead we had lean burgers and chicken sausages (on whole wheat buns!), corn on the cob, a chickpea salad, a fruit salad and a green salad.  No pictures, but trust me, it was divine and left us free to splurge on chocolate birthday cake with peanut butter frosting.  Holy yum.      

So today’s itinerary:  5 mile hill run, kickboxing with Anne P, fro-yo, and movie night with the husband.  I can get on board with all of that.  🙂

Hope everyone is enjoying their weekend!

7 Responses to Why Go At All?

  1. Yay! Good for you for getting the 12-miler over with!! I am heading out on mine shortly and not really looking forward to it but I gotta get it done right!!

    Have a great day!

  2. Congrats and going out and getting the 12 miles done!! Sometimes all it takes is getting over that mental hurdle right?

  3. jamie says:

    good for you getting it done! Sounds like an excellent BBQ!

  4. Anne P says:

    It was awesome meeting you today 🙂

  5. lindsay says:

    i’m bad about putting off a run, especially long ones. “oh i’ll do it tomorrow”… (never happens) i also sometimes think “what’s the point of going running, i can ‘only’ do like 3 miles”. i’m so pathetic somtimes 🙂

  6. I think it is always better to get the long run in as early as possible. If you think about it too much, you begin to dread it and think of reasons that you don’t have time, etc. Good job getting it done early! Also–love the healthy bbq!

  7. The Linz says:

    Congrats on your run. You always feel so much better once the run is done and over with. Good for you! And how fun that kickboxing class sounded like.

Leave a Reply

