Three Days of Tranquility

I hope everyone has been enjoying their holiday weekend – I know that I have!  It would appear  that  I’ve not been getting ample rest lately, as my naps have become too numberous to count the past couple days.  I do believe I’ve already had three today and it’s not even 11am.  But I must say, there is something so wonderful about not needing to do anything at all.  Pure bliss I tell you.  I have much more lounging to do today – mostly with this captivating book by my side and so I will give you the highlights.

Saturday’s run was 10 miles on the NCR Trail.  Where the trail crosses Glencoe Rd (mile 4.5) a family had set up a yard sale just to the side of the path.  I’ve been keeping an eye out for antiques lately – my house looks like a Pottery Barn catalogue, so sterile and unlived in and I think the older pieces will warm it up nicely – and so I stopped my clock to take a look around.  I got all sorts of goodies including an old milk bottle, a small wall-mounted cabinet and a huge clay pot with the No. 6 painted on its side.  All for $10!  The man was nice enough to hold it for me for over an hour while I made my way back to my car and then took on the challenge of finding him again via the country roads.  If you’re in the area and haven’t taken a scenic drive though Sparks, I highly suggest it – the estates are just gorgeous!! 

When I got back I had a celebratory afternoon planned.  Kirk’s birthday is actually today, but he had to work (boo!), so we decided to plan festivities on Saturday.  I ordered sandwiches to-go  from a nice restaurant up the road and we took our bounty to the woods for a picnic by the stream.   Then I surprised him with a round of mini-golf and a go at the driving range – something he’s been talking about doing for months.  And finally we ended up at the best (only? I don’t count TCBY. Blech.) frozen yogurt place around, YogaFresh.  Which, despite the fact that it’s a 30 minute trek away in Bel Air is totally worth the drive.   Creamiest yogurt EVER. 

Sunday’s run was a HOT 5 mile trek around the neighborhood.  No Garmin, no agenda, just me and the sun and copious amounts of sweat.  When I came home I did a 14 minute ab workout via Comcast’s OnDemand options.  I didn’t think it was that challenging, but man am I feeling it today.  Oddly, it’s my back and shoulders that are sore, but it’s that good kind of sore that lets you know you did something right.  

The rest of the holiday was spent at Kirk’s dad’s house in a suburb of DC.   Usually holidays are a chaotic attempt to see everyone and do everything, but somehow we escaped that this time around.  This year’s 4th was a peaceful respite from the busy humdrum of responsibility.  We swam, I napped in the hammock, we grilled and played frisbee.  Around 9:30 we caught the fireworks show at the fairgrounds which was fun.  I always make a game of picking my favorite firework.  Last night I was torn between a huge white one that turned a brilliant blue at the tips before fading to red, and a smaller white on that fizzled out leaving a shower of twinkling tendrils floating back to earth.   

9 Responses to Three Days of Tranquility

  1. abbi says:

    Sounds like a great weekend! I’ve had my share of naps over this 3-day weekend as well!

  2. Oh that sounds absolutely wonderful! I’ve had a very relaxing weekend but I think I’m ready to get back into the groove of things now 🙂

  3. Colleen says:

    Happy Birthday Kirk!!!

  4. BostonRunner says:

    Sounds like you had a great, relaxing weekend! that’s a beautiful picture of the fireworks!

  5. The Linz says:

    Great weekend of runs and relaxing! I loved your big firework pic. 🙂 And Happy Birthday Kirk!! 🙂

  6. Jamie says:

    Sounds like a fantastic holiday weekend!

  7. James says:

    Sounds like a great weekend. I saw that family with the sale in Glencoe on Sunday too. Of course I didn’t stop to see what all they had.

Leave a Reply

