The Summer Chop

If you’re friends with me on Facebook, you already know that this week has been rough. 

For the record, my darling husband is referring to Conrad’s Crabs & Seafood Market ($1 crabs on Tuesdays!), but crabs or no crabs I’ve been having a tough go of it lately.   

Historically, I cope with stress through distraction.  I’m also impulsive by nature.  My hair can attest to this – all 23″ of it.  This length – the longest it’s been in my life – is an indicator of how happy I’ve been over the past three years (meeting the man of your dreams tends to have that effect)… but even the Blissful Runner can lose sight of her bliss. 

The last time I cut my hair (I mean really cut it, not just a trim) was after an hellaciuos breakup, just before I began dating my now-husband.  I  ended my relationship, got into my car and drove around aimlessly and in tears for about an hour before I ended up in a Hair Cuttery parking lot.  I walked in and had my bra-strap length hair cut to my chin.  I find the cutting of my hair to be highly therapeutic.  It’s a new beginning – quite literally, a re-invention of myself. 

I’m feeling that itch again.  My stress levels are high and there’s not much that I can do about it aside from adjust my outlook.  Despite my acceptance of this, I’m finding it easier said then done.  Sometimes I need that extra shove and I know from experience that doing something drastic fits the bill.  My impulsive visit to the Hair Cuttery wasn’t the first time I’d turned to the shears for a distraction, and it’s pretty safe to say it won’t be the last.  Most anyone with long hair will tell you their blanket of hair is akin to a security blanket, and while it’s a scary thing to shed, the freedom I feel when it’s done is addictive.  It’s almost as though I can’t help but be a new person, when I bear so little resemblance to my old self. 

Which leads me to why I’m desperately wanting to go from this:

To this:

Doesn’t she look happy and confident and sexy?  I could really go for a dose of confidence right about now.

Questions:  (1) Should I go for it?  and (2) What do you do when you’re stressed?

All photos from katiehomes.com.

8 Responses to The Summer Chop

  1. Sue says:

    I think you should go for it! When I get a new hair style I always feel as if I am making a fresh start.

  2. Jess says:

    I did the Katie Holmes chop too not long after she hacked hers off. I loooove it. It’s cute and easy breezy. The only downside is it makes it tough for running b/c it’s hard to pull it back and I hate hair hanging in my face when I run.

  3. I am a HUGE FAN of short hair. I have an inverted bob, and have had one for about 3 years now, and I LOVE IT! So easy and quick to do, not hot, not heavy. Amazing!

    So, ya, I think you should chop it all off 😉

  4. Abbi says:

    Hope things get better for you soon! If chopping your hair has worked in the past, I say go for it. Summer is always a great time for that anyway, it’s always refreshing for a lighter cut. As far as stress relief, I’m usually one for a big cry and some huge dessert.

  5. James says:

    I say go for it. A good haircut will give you a fresh look on things. I’ve done it myself several times to deal with stress. AS for my way to cope, I’ll lay down to a good movie, or if I’m out and about, I’ll put some good music on and go for a long drive somewhere.

  6. Your current hair is beautiful but I think you would look great with that Katie Holmes hairstyle too!

    I colour my hair when I am stressed. Last year I went from dark brown to almost blonde during a really stressful period.

    I have long hair and I totally relate tot eh security blanket thing. I have thought about cutting it but just never get the nerve to do it!

  7. jamie says:

    Go for it! Hair grows but that is one cute cut! A fresh haircut will give you a fresh outlook!

  8. The Linz says:

    DO IT!! I think it will look so cute. I actually thought this whole time you had short hair because your hair is always pulled back in pics. But I love the feeling having a new do and with it being summertime will be a nice change. 🙂 YAYYAYAY!

Leave a Reply

