My No Good, Very Bad Day

Remember Alexander and his Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day?   Well this whole week’s kinda been like that, but there are two main reasons I’m declaring this week a RUNNING FAIL. 

First, I lost my favorite hat somewhere along the trail on Sunday.  When I say somewhere, I mean somewhere between mile 5 and mile 9 and believe you me, by the time I realized it wasn’t wedged in the waistband of my shorts anymore—a mere mile from my finish—I wasn’t about to turn around and go hunting.  Sadly, when I ran the trail again last night, it was gone.  Note to self:  even if the weather is 84 degrees at 6am with a sweltering 88% humidity, keep a firm grasp on your hat.  You’ll miss it when it’s gone.

So, to whomever stole my  running hat off the trail on Sunday: Gimmie, gimmie, gimmie!  I want it back. 

LOST!!
White Brooks Running Hat


Identifying marks: 

  • Emblazoned with the Maryland Half Marathon Logo on the front and the race name stitched on the back
  • A Green Monster stain under the bill (What? Like you’ve never stuck a spoon in the blender. Riiight)

Second, two miles into my treadmill run today I felt a twinge in my right shin.  I ran two tenths of a mile more and it didn’t ease up and so I slowed to stretch it out.  No dice.  I called it quits, came home and iced while knocking back some Ibuprofen.  If anything, it now feels worse.  Have I mentioned I have the Baltimore 10 Miler on Saturday?  There are no words to express how upset I am.  Only tears. 

I think I’ll go wallow in self-pity with my buddy Alex before bed.   Too bad I’m too old to have my mom read me a bedtime story and tuck me in.  Mom’s always make everything better.

 

8 Responses to My No Good, Very Bad Day

  1. OK, first, who would steal a running hat like that? I mean, my running hat is DISGUSTING. Sweaty and just yuck. If I was someone else I wouldn’t touch it with a 10-foot pole.

    Secondly, I’ve been having twinges in my shin too :S :S I hope we BOTH get better asap!

  2. Abbi says:

    That stinks that someone stole your hat! I agree, who would want someone else’s sweaty hat?

    Easier said than done, but don’t get down on your shin pain either. Sounds like you probably stopped at the right time. If Saturday doesn’t go exactly as planned, there’s always other races!

  3. James says:

    Sorry to hear about the hat loss and shin pain. Keep it iced and take anti-inflammatory pain killers. Hopefully you’ll be good to go for the 10 miler this weekend. The course looks like a good one. Have a great time! Oh, and I’ll keep an eye out for runners with your hat on the NCR trail! lol

  4. Jamie says:

    Sorry about your favorite hat and shin pains. I had severe shin pain 2 weeks before my last marathon I kept it iced and took advil and was good to go race day. I hope it is nothing too serious!

  5. The Linz says:

    😦 I’m sorry to hear that your week has turned into a running fail. 😦 Cheer up buttercup! I think this gives you a great excuse to go shopping and buy a new hat! Though I know how sad it is to lose a favorite piece of running gear. I’m thinking happy thoughts for your 10 miler this weekend.

    • You read my mind Linzi! Kohls is having a sale on tech tank-tops ($5!!). Pair that with my 30% off coupon and I was a happy camper. Shin is much improved today too whichs helps tremendously! Thanks for the love!

  6. dohhh i hate it when i lose really great gear!!

    good call on not pushing if it was starting too hurt

  7. MCM Mama says:

    Bummer about the hat loss. That sucks!

    Hope your shin feels better quickly and you are still able to run the 10 miler.

Leave a Reply

