Tapering Away

It’s taper week!  I’ve looked forward to this for the past 9 weeks and now that it’s here, it’s bittersweet.  I’m antsy, but I’m sure I don’t need to tell you that.   My training schedule has me doing speed intervals most of the week, but overall covering very short distances.  I read my workout for today three times to make sure I wasn’t misinterpreting the routine.  This is what it said:

Nope. Less than a mile. Crazy!  FYI, my Cruise Intervals are at 9:30/mi and my Speed Intervals are at 8:56/mi.

I’ve been doing a teensy bit more weight lifting this week, but last night was my last trip to the gym.  Promise.  It’s very tempting, but everything I’ve read about tapering says to steer clear of cross training as it depletes your energy reserves – thereby defeating the purpose of the taper. 

I do, however, have a slow three miler scheduled for Saturday morning, and I do believe that I’ve convinced the hubs to join me on my very first trail run.  He thinks running is the most boring thing ever, but I think the added element of the forest piqued his interest.  Either that or he just loves me lots – he knows I’d love to try trail running, but am nervous at the thought of entering the woods alone. 

Randomness:

  • Anyone else see the irony in the driver of a Honda Fit puffing away on a cigarette?  I rolled my eyes so hard it hurt. 
  • Ever made a meal of a can of soup and a cup of dry rice? Simmer for a half hour and eat. Easiest thing ever.  Ever.
  • I bought three suits last week and returned them all.  I’m apparently in between sizes.  Lame.
  • My one year wedding anniversary is tomorrow (get ready to be bombarded with wedding pictures in my next post). Gift ideas? Anyone? …Anyone??
6 Responses to Tapering Away

  1. James says:

    I don’t have your email address so I’ll post it here. I found a group that does runs on the NCR trail. I haven’t run with them but used their site to learn about it. I started at the Ashland parking area (bottom of the trail). I’m planning on running it again this Sunday. here is their website:

    http://www.ncrtrailsnails.com/

    if you need anymore help, just let me know!

    • Awesome, thanks. Yes, I’m on their mailing list, but could never determine for sure where they meet up. You know how abstract everything is if you haven’t been there before? It intimidates me! Hopefully after Saturday, I’ll feel more confident and can meet up with them. 🙂

  2. James says:

    I doubt I’ll meet up with them. I prefer to do distances on Sundays. I’m heading to Fleet Feet tonight at 6. I like running with that group.

  3. Johanna B says:

    Congrats on your one year anniversary. Look forward to the wedding pics.

  4. The Linz says:

    Happy Anniversary! I would say a great bottle of vino – if the hubs like vino. I know I do! Oh yeah, and I hate being in between sizes! Ughh.. i think due to the fact that I am five foot one, nothing ever ever fits right. I hope you and the hubs have fun on your run this weekend! 🙂

  5. MCM Mama says:

    Happy anniversary! Can’t wait to see pictures. No suggestions on the gift – we gave up anniversary presents many years ago. ;o)

Leave a Reply

