Hell Week

My boss is going out of town for ten days beginning tomorrow, thus leaving me with a seemingly impossible workload (re: the title of this post).  When stressors are high, it’s twice as important to highlight the good, right?  Here’s a list of a few things that are making me smile.

1) My 11 mile run yesterday.  I know, I’m crazy,  but I can’t tell you how nice it was to tune my iPod to my wedding mix, and do 8.5 mindless loops around Lake Montebello yesterday.  After a ten hour day that sucked from start to finish, it felt wonderful to not have to think for 1 hour and 51 minutes.

2) I took my Glycerine 8s back to Falls Road Running Store today.  Three weeks ago they assessed me as a supinator and put me in neutral shoes. Commence shin splits.  Today they declaired me a pronator (okaaay…) took back those little devils and replaced them with Brooks Adrenaline’s.  Not quite as cute (I will miss the blue and yellow irredecence), but my run today was pain free.  I’ll take it.  And kudos to them for making it a quick and easy switcheroo.

3) I beat the pace buddy on my Garmin today.  I call her Edie (rhymes with speedy and reminds me of Edy’s ice cream…yum).  Nothing quite like that little screen playing it’s happy little song and exclaiming, “You win!”

4) This guy:

(on our honeymoon in Costa Rica, almost one full year ago)

7 Responses to Hell Week

  1. Jess says:

    That’s awesome to hear the running store made the switch so easily for you!

  2. The Linz says:

    I love that you are focusing on things that make you happy even though you may be stressed. It will help I promise. And yay for new running shoes, that don’t cause pain. 🙂
    I hope hell week goes by quickly and not hellishly (if that’s even a word).

  3. ohh isn’t costa rica devine, maybe I will conjur that up on my next run to get me all relaxed

  4. kilax says:

    The last time I went to a running store they called me a supinator too! But I am sticking to my trusty Adrenalines for now 🙂

  5. James says:

    I stopped by Falls Road Running Store last week. It’s a nice little place. Glad they got your shoes fixed. Have you made it by Fleet Feet yet?

  6. MCM Mama says:

    Those are definitely some happy making things! Glad they solved your shoe problem.

  7. Wow – great job on your 11 mile run!

    I am jealous of your Costa Rican honeymoon!

Leave a Reply

