Zero Is Not A Size

… but it’s a hell of an ego boost!

This weekend I went on a mother-daughter shopping excursion and splurged on a dress.

Yes, it’s a sunny, fun pattern and perfect for spring, but that’s not why I bought it.  I bought this dress solely for the number printed on its tag. 

Yes, I know I’m not really a size zero, but if Ann Taylor wants to say that I am, who am I to disagree?  … And I’ll be damned if I don’t have documented proof hanging in my closet!

Shameful?  Maybe, but I’m not apologizing for it.  This dress made me happy.  It’s a symbol of all of my hard work and dedication, and I earned that.  For the record, I’m not a size zero.  I don’t aspire to a size zero, nor do I think that I would be a healthy weight if I were.  I’m perfectly happy with my current size (130-135lbs, 5’5″  and closer to a size 4) and after a lot of hard work to get here, I’m working to simply maintain it, not change it. 

I don’t believe we should base our fitness goals on what society and/or the fashion industry deems acceptable, but rather, on how we feel in our own skin.  That said, some girls naturally are a size zero and there is absolutely nothing wrong with that;  just as there is nothing wrong with finding a dress that is clearly sized inaccurately and capitalizing on it. 

3 Responses to Zero Is Not A Size

  1. Jamie says:

    Sometimes I buy things from Ann Taylor just because the size on the tag is so much smaller than my real clothing size. I like the little ego boost! And cute dress!

  2. The Linz says:

    I heart Ann Taylor!! Cute dress. I may have to go check it out, I am sure in need of a summer dress.

Leave a Reply

