United State of … Rehabilitation

If you don’t have this song on your iPod you aren’t really living.  Just sayin’…

United State of Pop 2009 – DJ Earworm

I get such a burst of energy when I hear this!  Can’t wait til I can get out there and run to it again!! 

Speaking of my lack of running, here’s what I’ve been up to while I nurse my injury:

Tuesday: The speed intervals that killed my shins and made them scream like banshees all night.
Wednesday: 45 minutes on the recumbent bike, 10 mins on the elliptical (experienced a few twinges of pain and decided to quit) and ten minutes of free weights.
Thursday: 20 min weight circuit at the gym, 30 minutes on the upright bike (my butt is killing me today!), and 1.5 hours of hot yoga.
Friday: ???

Let me take a minute to tell you about my yoga class. It was a hot Vinyasa class.  And the sweat.  Oh my goodness, the sweat.  It doesn’t matter how many times I take a hot yoga class I am always astounded by the amount of sweat my body can produce.  I had to stop to towel off three times and, despite the 16oz of water I drank during the class, I lost 6 lbs in the hour and a half I was in there.  SIX POUNDS!!  That’s a big puddle folks.  Do most people sweat this much?  The girl on my right looked relatively dry, but the guy to my left looked like he’s been swimming in the same pool I’d been hanging out in.  I’ve been hydrating like crazy today.  That’s not really true, I had two cups of coffee even though I knew it wasn’t the best idea.  What can I say?  I love me some  java.

 As for being injured, it’s not all bad.   In fact, I’ve discovered it has some serious benefits:

  • Having an sports injury makes me feel like a real athlete – a right of passage if you will. 
  • I’ve been forced to focus on cross training – something I feel is important, but haven’t really been concentrating on lately.
  • Plenty of time for core work.  I hammered out 26 push-ups at the gym yesterday impressing not only myself but one perverted old man as well.
  • It makes me really appreciate my body and how strong it is/can be.   It also has me thinking about ways I misuse it (over-training, over-eating, etc.)

I haven’t decided if I’m going to try and run this weekend or not.  My training schedule calls for a 10k “race” tomorrow and 8 miles on Sunday.  That’s obviously not going to happen and if I don’t get out there this weekend it will be ok (it’s supposed to get up to 90 degrees so this is the weekend for a break if there ever was one!).  If I do  try a run, I’m definitely going to shoot for a nice flat trail or grassy area.  I’m also going to look into getting some kooshy insoles for my shoes in hopes of preventing a reoccurrence.

I’m not really sure what to do with my schedule though.  Is it useless now?  The race is in three weeks.  Should I try and work my way back into it?  Or just do what feels comfortable until race day and hope for the best?

5 Responses to United State of … Rehabilitation

  1. BostonRunner says:

    I LOVE that song, it never fails to pump me up! The mix is so impressive.
    As for hot vinyasa yoga, I love it! Six pounds though wow that’s a lot! Drink lots of water!
    Injuries – I came to the same conclusion about injuries this week too, taking a rest every once in a while doesn’t have to be all bad! I hope you get better soon though!

  2. BostonRunner says:

    Hello again, in response to your question on my blog, my PT said it was okay to run through “awareness” pain when I had runner’s knee. As for shin splints, I think it depends, but I’m no pro or doctor. Is the pain continuing through the whole run? Or does it occur through the first couple of miles and then go away? If it goes away it’s most likely shin splints and, I tend to continue to run but be more cautious with it. I foam roll and stretch my calves a lot and tend to stick to the treadmill. I also try not to run on consecutive days and really focus on my stride (make sure its short and light). If it’s continuing throughout the whole run, I would do the things I listed above, but be even more cautious about it because you could develop a stress fracture or something if you push it too hard. It seems like we’re in a pretty similar situation. I’ve never run a half before so I don’t know how much training I need, but I’m going to try to go into with lots of rest instead of lots of runs, which is kind of scary but I think I’ll be fine. I’m sure a couple days of extra rest won’t hurt you in your half training. Hopefully that answered your question a little bit!

  3. Olivia says:

    Thanks for your thoughts! This is my first injury so I’m really unsure about everything. The pain does seem to go away after a bit so maybe tomorrow I’ll head to the gym and try out the treadmill for a bit. I’ve been spending oodles of time with my foam roller, stretching and messaging the area so I think I’ve done everything I can except get back out there and see what happens! Thanks again!

  4. MCM Mama says:

    I can’t imagine hot yoga. I ran today in the nearly 90 degree weather and left a trail of sweat around the house when I came home. I can’t imagine choosing to be that hot. ;o)

    Hope the shin splints heal quickly.

  5. The Linz says:

    I think you have a great attitude towards your injury and think it’s cool that you are doing other cool things to keep motivated. Push-ups?! Right on. And hot yoga sounds awesome. I think you just need to listen to your body right now and only run what you feel comfortable with. I am seriously sending healing vibes.

    I loved the part where you said you feel like a real athlete (rite of passage) because of your injury. 🙂 right on!

Leave a Reply

