Team Cathy

If you’ve been following my blog, you know that I’m running in the Maryland Half Marathon next month and raising money for the Marlene and Stewart Greenebaum Cancer Center.  Part of the reason that I’m so passionate about this race is because my husband lost his mom, Cathy,  to cancer when he was in college.  While her passing happened long before Kirk and I even met, I’ve seen how tough it’s been for him in the years since her death.  He misses his mom every day, and I miss never having met her at all.    

Kirk’s My Uncle Paul (Cathy’s brother) is running in the relay portion of the race with my sister-in-law (her daughter), Lauren next month.  And because Uncle Paul is awesome like that, he’s designed these shirts for us to wear.  The front says “Team Cathy” (it will be in turquoise lettering, her favorite color), and the sleeve will have her initials “CRJ” on it.

On the back he’s selected a yellow awareness ribbon symbolic of both the bladder and liver cancer that took her life.  I am so excited to get our shirts and wear them on race day!  Thanks again Uncle Paul!!

If you’d like to donate to the Marlene and Stewart Greenebaum Cancer Center you can visit the donation page I’ve set up.

Other tid-bits:

  • The chocolate cake at the Gala last night was ah-may-zing. More like fudge than cake.  OMG!
  • I’m baking more Irish Brown Bread tonight.  This time I’m adding molasses for that extra kick. Mmmm…
  • The company is treating all the administrative personnel to lunch at TGI Fridays today.  I checked out their nutritional info online and I think I’m getting either the  Dragonfire Chicken or the Cedar-seared Salmon Pasta.  Nom nom.
  • I can’t stop thinking about delicious food.
  • Good thing I’m scheduled to run a total of 21.75 miles in the next three days.  
4 Responses to Team Cathy

  1. BostonRunner says:

    That’s such a great thing that you are doing! You’re all going to look sharp in those t-shirts.
    Thanks for the comment today. I’m glad I’m not the only one that has trouble living in the moment. Although all those exciting things are in the past for you, sometimes I feel like when I have nothing to look forward to I’m BETTER at living for today. Give it a try, see what happens : )

  2. What a fabulous thing you’re doing! I love the t-shirt idea too 🙂

  3. X-country2 says:

    What a great cause. Good luck!

  4. The Linz says:

    I LOVE the shirts! I think that is so great that you guys are running together in support of Cathy. What a great way to honor her.

Leave a Reply

