Wegmans

This past weekend I made my first shopping trip to Wegmans.  Oh.  My.  God.  How is it that I’ve never been to this store before?!  Their health food section is massive, their international food aisles lengthy and their housewares department is chock full of beautiful kitchen ware and gift ideas.  Even better, their bakery and seafood sections are lively and not at all unlike attending an outdoor farmer’s market  – without the hassle of getting out of bed at oh five hundred.  Score!  

I kid you not – I was there for two and a half hours!  It’s probably a good thing I left the husband to do his own thang elsewhere – I think he would have be bored out of his mind.

Check out my bounty!

   

The wheat flour and the buttermilk is for a fantastic Irish Brown Bread recipe I found.  I used to work at an Irish pub and we had the most amazing bread.  With the added miles I’ve been logging recently I’ve been craving carbs like none other and I starting reminiscing about those wonderful loaves.  A visit to good ol’ Ryan’s Daughter was a bust though.  Apparently our old bakery went out of business and they no longer carry the delicious dark bread I was after.  So, you guessed it, I turned to Google.  The resulting loaf was a bit lighter than I wanted it to be with a slightly less bitter taste, but still hearty and amazing with butter and jam.  I did a bit more research and found that some recipes call for molasses.  I’m thinking that’s what I was missing this go around so guess I’ll just have to make another loaf, you know,  just to be sure.

With the rest of my goodies I made this savory tortilla pizza:

It’s got a Dijon mustard and garlic base, topped with bell peppers, mushrooms, broccoli, spinach, tomatoes and feta.  Mmmmm…

Tonight I’m still debating between grilling up the salmon or trying to conquer the art of preparing eggplant.  Wish me luck either way!

Recent Run Recaps:
Monday night  – 4.35 miles UPHILL @ avg 10:34/mi.  I chose a loop that I remembered having some hills in it knowing I was due for a good hill workout.  I failed to remember that there was absolutely no downhill sections on this particular route.  It was killer!   I also hit the gym for a half hour on my way home and got some weight lifting in. Gotta work off those four (yes, four!!) Easter meals.

Tuesday night – 3.27 miles speed intervals @ avg 9:57/mi  (even with the recovery runs I think I beat my best time for this route. Yay!).

6 Responses to Wegmans

  1. The Linz says:

    Sounds like you had a fun time grocery shopping! We have a healthfood store here that I could literally spend hours in too. Oh and great job on your run yesterday too!

  2. James says:

    Wegmans is a great grocery store. Have you been to Fresh Market off Greenspring, just inside the beltway? It’s not huge but offers some good items.

    • Olivia says:

      Fresh Market? No … I can’t think of where that is. I’ll have to look it up. I lived right there in Mt. Washington for years, but all I can think of over there is Whole Foods. Hmmm….

  3. James says:

    here is the address:

    2510 Quarry Lake Dr.
    Baltimore, MD 21208

    If you get off of the beltway on Greenspring Ave. head south towards downtown, it’s about 1/2 mile past Old Court on the right.

    • Olivia says:

      Oh my gosh, I’m such a bird brain! Not only did I used to shop there, I actually set up and partnership between Fresh Market and the company I was working for at the time. I moved to Parkville and completely forgot that entire shopping complex existed! I drive right by the exit on my way home from work every day. Thanks for the reminder, I will definitely be stopping by there soon – maybe today!

  4. lindsay says:

    yummm pizza. i made a pita pizza tonight myself! yours looks much tastier 🙂

    i was the same when i started blogging a little over a year ago… i lurked others for awhile and then randomly started getting comments from people and i came out of my shell.

Leave a Reply

