First Long Run of the Season

According to Mr. Garmin, I burned 618 calories on my run today (more on our improving relationship later) – good thing too after that pineapple upside down cake! Our group run this morning was great. I was a little weary given that it was 31 degrees when I left the house (others must have had the same reservations because it was a pretty slim turnout overall), but I bundled up with my winter-wear, gloves and earwarmer and after a couple of miles I could feel my fingers again, so it was all good.

Jim, the owner of Falls Road Running Store, led us on a three mile tour of Druid Hill Park, before sending those of us that wanted to log a few extra miles on our merry way. He pointed out the dual tennis courts and swimming pools and told us of Druid Hill Park’s involvement in the desegregation movement. Crazy. I mean, you read about it, you hear about it on tv, but I’ve never actually seen the evidence of that portion of our country’s history.

We continued on, up past the conservatory, to the zoo and back and around the lake before making it back to our cars. I paired up with a fellow runner who has a compatible pace to mine and we pushed each other well finishing at a 9:30 pace.  There was one guy that I ran with for a few miles who had just completed his first marathon last week – and qualified for Boston!  Ha, I wish!

  

I have to say, I am really enjoying these group runs. I forgot my iPod today, and didn’t even miss it for a moment. My first long run of the season did wear me out though – I’ve wanted nothing more than to sleep the rest of the day!

Photo credit to Tanglewood Living Conservatories and Baltimore Personal Trainer.

2 Responses to First Long Run of the Season

  1. RunToFinish says:

    wow that sounds really fun! I love seeing new cities and having a “guide” would really get me excited!

  2. Olivia says:

    It was great! I only moved to Baltimore a few years ago, and live in the outlying areas so there is a ton of the city that I haven’t seen yet. Baltimore is pretty patchy too, which is why I’ve never ventured a run in the city on my own – no telling where you might end up!

Leave a Reply

