Birthday Love!

I turned 28 today and simultaneously gained a plethora of blog topics to write about…in the form of presents!  (Two hoots for birthdays – gotta love ’em!)  So, in the next few weeks I’ll be covering:

The Garmin Forerunner 405:

This was a splurge gift that the hubby and my mother went in on together. I took it for a quick test run around the local high school track a few times last night and ended up completely frustrated. Guess I’ll have to actually crack open that manual! 


Cook This, Not That!: Kitchen Survival Guide
:

The amazing Kelly O bestowed this on my this morning with the declaration, “I didn’t get you this because I think you’re fat!”.  I think she was nervous I’d get offended, but I’m actually really pumped to read it.  I’m also  happy that she not only picked up on this health and fitness kick I’ve been on, but responded in a positive way.  Some people either just don’t take it seriously or seem to  belittle my efforts.  Anyone else have a similar experiece with others knocking their resolutions to eat healthier and/or stay active?


The Biggest Loser Family Cookbook :

This is more love from the hubby… kind of.  He uncovered it in the lost and found at work and claimed it for me knowing I’d get a kick out of new health food factoids and recipes.  Best yet, it doesn’t even look like it’s been opened.  Score one for me!


A Sleep Number c4 mattress:

 

This one was a gift to myself (and the husband by default – though really I think he could sleep on a bed of nails and not notice!).  I’ve been waking up with horrible stiffness and back pain these last few months and am desperate for a restful night’s sleep.  When I realized our current mattress is approaching a birthday of its own (13 years old!), I declared it time for a replacement.  Last night was our first night on the Sleep Number and it was a little rough,  but I think I should wait at least a week before making any conclusions.

 
A Dick’s Sporting Goods Gift Card:

From the lovely Ashlee.  Can you say new sneaks?  I can!  I’ve had my eye on the Brooks Glycerine 8 for a while now. 🙂

I’m super jazzed  to try out my new goodies (and redeem my failed run with the Garmin last night).  Stay tuned for reviews!

For now I’m off on an adventure!  Kirk is stealing me away for a night out.  He won’t tell me where we’re going other than there is food there (actually, I’m just assuming this is the case since we’ve no other plans for dinner) and neither of us have ever been there before.  My initial guess of the Melting Pot was rejected.  We’ve been talking about going there for years, but Kirk said when he called to make reservations (am I an awesome guesser or what?!) he discovered the location near us had closed down – boooo!  With that off the table, I haven’t a clue where we’re headed, but I’ll keep you posted!

P.S. Check out this awesome giveaway that Tricia is running for KettleWorx at Endurance Isn’t Only Physical. I’d love to win this one!

4 Responses to Birthday Love!

  1. Laura says:

    Happy birthday! You got some REALLY awesome gifts. Thanks so much for the kind comments on my blog 🙂

    • Olivia says:

      My first comment! Woot woot! I just started this blog this month and wanted to get a few solid posts up before linking to it. I’ve been lurking on the blogopshere for a while, but am more than ready to get my feet wet and make some friends! Thanks for the birthday wishes!

  2. The Linz says:

    Found you through Tricia’s blog. Happy birthday and yay for the garmin 405. I got one for Christmas and am still figuring out how to use it. Maybe we can help eachother? I found that it takes awhile to find the satelites. Though, when it works it is amazing!

    Have fun on your adventure! 🙂

    • Olivia says:

      Hi Linzi, thanks for stopping by. Yeah, the run with the Garmin last night was not fun. At all. I got so frustrated, I almost turned around and went home! All I wanted was to see my time as I was running, but I couldn’t pull the right screen up. It did properly record my run (even the the screen was blank nearly the whole time), so I guess it’s just me. I’m excited to get to know it a little better – there’s all sorts of cool features locked in there!

Leave a Reply

