Everybody’s Free To Wear Sunscreen

Baz Luhrmann really had hit the nail on the head with his 1999 hit Everybody’s Free to Wear Sunscreen.  While the song was admittedly overplayed in its day, his advice is sound and the touch of whimsy and nostalgia in this little ditty always puts a smile on my face.  Baz sounds like he is truly following his bliss.  I’m taking notes!

Speaking of sunscreen, it’s that time of year again.  Not that one shouldn’t wear sunscreen all year long, but during a winter of nothing but snow and treadmill runs, I admit, it wasn’t my number one priority.  When I’m outdoors though, I’m kind of a nut about sunscreen.  With my Black Irish heritage, I am blessed/cursed with the unlikely combo of dark hair, pale skin and blue eyes. I say blessed because others always comment on how unusual my coloring is, but it’s definitely a curse too, because I burn like the dickens.  I also have a tendency to develop spots of hyperpigmentation.  And brown spots of your face = not cool.  So, you understand why I wear nothing short of an SPF of 50 when I’m outside. 

Typically I pick up Rite Aid’s Suncare Faces SPF 50 

Rx Suncare Faces Sunblock SPF 50

At $5.80 you really can’t beat it, but now I see they have an SPF 70 (all together now, “ooohhh, ahhhh”)
Rx Suncare Sport Sunblock SPF 70
AND it’s specialized to be sweat proof!  Win!

Do you have a sunscreen that you swear by? What is it?

Leave a Reply

